Gold Coast Public Library
Gold Coast Public Library Contact Information
 
     


Databases AlphabeticallyDatabases Alphabetically

The Gold Coast Public Library
District patrons now have access to a wide variety of databases online. Online databases are computerized collections of information, indexed for easy retrieval. Some are subject specific while others contain a wide variety of information. Some provide abstracts or full text and some just provide a citation to an article from a periodical or other printed source. The information in databases is generally not available free on the Internet and is usually more reliable and authoritative since it has been produced or selected and edited by people with relevant subject expertise.

Your Gold Coast Public Library card number may be required to access some of these databases. When entering your card number do not include spaces.

For database access while using a Gold Coast computer: click on the database title, you should not need to enter a user name or password.
For access from home click on the link titled: REMOTE ACCESS. This will bring you to a screen that will ask for a barcode number, this is found on the back of your Gold Coast Card. If you cannot access the database using your card, try retyping the number. If that does not work clear out your user history and then try the number again. If you are still having problems connecting to the databases please call 516-759-8300 to speak with a reference librarian.

 
   

ABI/INFORM Dateline
Local and regional business news coverage of public and private companies, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.
Remote Access

ABI/INFORM Select
Core business periodicals cover advertising, economics, human resources, finance, marketing, and more.
Remote Access

ABI/INFORM Trade Industry Journals
Provides the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics.
Remote Access

African American Experience
This rich resource contains articles, audio and visual clips, a timeline of events, first person narratives and more.
Remote Access

America the Beautiful
State-by-state history of events including primary sources and multimedia clips.
Remote Access

Ancestry.com Library Edition
Search historical records for genealogical information.
(In-Library Use Only)

Annals of American History
First person accounts, images, documents and brief descriptions of events and eras.
Remote Access

Biography Resource Center
Search by name, birth or death dates, occupation, gender or ethnicity.

Black Newspapers
Remote Access

Business and Company Resource Center
Search company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports and company histories.

Career Cruising
An interactive site that includes career profiles, college information, resume-builder, and more.

Community Resource Database of Long Island
Directory of health, human service, and education agencies and programs on Long Island.

Consumer Reports
Recent and archived issues of the Consumer Reports magazine along with specific guides for appliances, cars and electronics.

Credo Reference
Full-text reference sources covering everything from art to accountancy and science to Shakespeare.  Includes images, maps and audio files.

Daily Life America  
Everyday life and social customs throughout American history.
Remote Access

Daily Life Online
Everyday life and social customs throughout world history organized by time period,  region or subject.
Remote Access

EB Kids   
K-5-friendly, with news, articles, and audio files; accessed via the Encyclopedia Britannica page.

Ebsco A-Z  
Find out where to look for full-text articles from specific magazines, journals and newspapers.

Encyclopedia Americana  
News, articles and information on all subject areas; includes biographical profiles.

Encyclopedia Britannica   
Articles, images and basic information on a wide range of topics.
Remote Access

Financial Times
Provides essential information for the analysis of business trends and events; articles are indexed by company, industry and country.
Remote Access

Gale Literature Resource Center  
A great source for literary critiques and biographies, with multimedia content and primary sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Contains more than 100 searchable reference titles on all subjects, from current events to classics, from the humanities to small business. 

General OneFile  
A one-stop source for news and articles from mainstream to specialized sources.

Global Reference Center  
Encyclopedia Britannica in Korean, Chinese, Spanish, French and Japanese.
Remote Access

Global Road Warrior
Global resources and information for travelers and scholars.

GreenFile
Abstracts and full-text articles from more then 600 scholarly and general interest periodicals.

Grolier Kids
A K-5-oriented version of Grolier’s encyclopedia, with magazines, an atlas and a dictionary.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
For middle, junior and high school students; includes images.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Search magazines and journals on a wide variety of health-related topics.

HeritageQuest Online 
A genealogical research database containing U.S. census records from 1790 to 1930.

Historical New York Times
Full page and article images with searchable full-text from 1851- 2006.
Remote Access

Hoovers Company Records  
Information on public and private companies and executives.

Informe

Infotrac Newsstand 
Includes national, regional and local newspapers and foreign newspapers written in English.

Kids Infobits    
Full-text magazines and newspapers for students in grades K-5.

Lands and People
An encyclopedia of countries, cultures and current events for middle and high schools.

Latino American Experience 
Articles, sights and sounds, a timeline, first person accounts, and more.
Remote Access

Learning Express
Provides interactive online test preparation and practice for school, college and work.

LISA
Abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other specialists.

LitFinder 
Comprehensive searchable lists of poems, stories, essays, plays and speeches.

Live Homework Help  
Get help with your homework from 2-10pm daily.

Live Librarian  
Have your questions answered by a librarian, 24/7.
 
Long Island Memories
Photographs, personal narratives and access to the New York State Historical Documents catalog.

Mango Languages 
Learn to converse in French, Greek, Spanish, German or Italian.

Nassau Digital Doorway
Downloadable audio and E-books.

NetLibrary
A collection of full-text fiction, non-fiction and primary source materials.

New Book of Knowledge
Reference and current events for elementary readers includes images, maps and more.

New Book of Popular Science

A high school science encyclopedia with biographies of famous scientists and science project ideas.

Newsday
News and events in the Long Island and New York City areas, archived from 1985 to the present.
Remote Access

NextReads 
Genre-specific emailed newsletters that provide reading suggestions for adults and children.

NOAH (New York Online Access to Health) 
Health information site which provides information in both English and Spanish.

NoveList
Find out what to read next; search by author, title, genre, subject or look for award-winners.

NoveList K-8
For elementary and middle school students; search by author, title, genre or subject.

Opposing Viewpoints
A valuable source of information and web links for social issues and current events.

Oxford Art Online 
Search for information about arts, architecture, and photography from prehistoric times to the present day.

Oxford Music Online
Search for music, musicians and musical instruments from prehistoric to contemporary times

Pop Culture Universe
Information on American and world popular culture, past and present.

Prices 4 Antique
A comprehensive database of antiques, collectibles and historic Americana sold at auction throughout the country.
Remote Access

Primary Search
Elementary-school- appropriate articles ranging from English to Math and Science.

PROMT
Access business and trade journals, market studies, and investment and brokerage firm reports.

ProQuest Computing Journals
Full text articles on database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
Remote Access

ProQuest Education/Teacher Journals
Search professional magazines and journals related to all aspects of education.
Remote Access

ProQuest Health Management Journals
Find full-text information on all areas of health care.
Remote Access

ProQuest National Newspapers Premier

Search this comprehensive collection of newspapers for full-text articles including the New York Times from 1980-present.
Remote Access

ProQuest Research Library

Search the premier full-text collection of more then 4,000 magazines and journals for product reviews.
Remote Access


Reference USA  
Information and details on North American businesses and health care providers.

TumbleBook Library
Interactive online books for the pre-reader or the reluctant reader, and for basic skills practice.

TumbleBook Readables
Collection of read-along titles featuring adjustable online text and complete audio narration.

Twayne's Author Series 
Search by name, genre, nationality, era, and more.

Webster's Dictionary Online
Definitions, etymology, illustrations, synonyms and word games.
Remote Access

World Cultures
Research world cultures through articles and multimedia content.
Remote Access

World Data Analyst
Current and chronological comparisons of world countries.
Remote Access

 

 

 
   
           
 

About Us | Library Services | Ask A Librarian | Live Homework Help | For Kids | For Teens | For Parents | For Seniors | Library Brochures | Library Catalog | My Library Account | Access Databases Alphabetically | Access Databases Subject | Access Databases Students | Readers’ Advisory | Search Engines | Selected References Websites | Websites of General Interest | Long Island Links | Visit Us | Contact Us | Home |


© 2006 Gold Coast Public Library
Contact Webmaster: Spiro TechCommunications, Inc.